Tags

, ,


Hi, me again.  Laura18 Streeter put me on to the best thing to hit SL since tattoo layers.  This may even eclipse tattoo layers.  MESH!

Ok, so the idea of mesh isn’t especially new.  But going to a store, buying a mesh dress, and seeing my cute little avi in it just knocked me over.  The store, btw, is Jane, and there you can find a selection of mesh dresses and skirts, jeans, and tops.

Left: curvy shape; Right: runway shape

So, let’s look at some of the particulars.  One of the first things I wanted to know was the extent to which it would change my shape.  For example, would the size of my boobs be defined by the dress?  Well, yes and no.  Pictured above are a smaller curvy shape that I have, and my tall runway shape.  First of all, I have to say that one size does not fit all.  But Jane includes a large and a small size, and between the two, I get a good fit on each avi.  Counter-intuitively, I found that my tall shape required the small size, and my shorter shape required the large size; chalk it up to the curves.  But back to my question, does the dress change my shape?  Not so much.  It adds a few extra curves to my skinny runway shape, but it comes reasonably close.

Notice also in the shot above, that the particular pose I have chosen would break most system skirts and many prim skirts.  But the mesh dress flows nicely over the avatar.  In Laura’s post, she shows mesh clothing on a variety of difficult poses.  So rather than repeat here what she has already well covered, I will refer you to her blog.   However, I was hoping that the terrible things that happen to our skirts when we sit would become an unpleasant memory.  Alas, as the pencil skirt shows below, it is possible to break a mesh skirt.

While on the subject of pencil skirts, I was really curious to see how a mesh pencil skirt would compare to a system skirt.  You know… the big-butt problem.  Shown below I am wearing one of Jane’s pencil skirts, using my regular shape (not skirt shape).  It adds a little volume to my butt, but flattens my tummy.  (Recall that system skirts bulge out on all sides, including tummy.)  So I would probably tweak my shape to narrow the butt and hips a tiny bit, but not nearly to the extent required for a system skirt.

One last caveat: You can only properly see a mesh prim (on yourself or anybody else) if your viewer supports mesh.  Second Life’s default viewer 3 and Kristen’s S21 support it.  (I shot these photos in Kristen’s S21 v 2.8.2.)  Seeing a mesh prim on someone if your viewer does not support mesh is not pretty (again, see Laura’s blog for a piccie).

A few btw’s.  The tank dress and pencil skirts are each single attachments.  They cannot be moved, rotated, etc (when I right-clicked the prim, the “Edit” option didn’t come up!).  And therefore the fit you see is as it came out of the box.  And the photos are untouched; what you see in the piccies is what I saw in my viewer.  An alpha layer is worn under the prim.  And as I was writing this, I received an update from Jane; the tank dress now includes 4 sizes: fair, luscious, petite, and plump.

Well, this can only mean one thing… I need a whole new wardrobe!!!  So, designers, *Bourbon taps her foot impatiently* what are you waiting for?

Top photo: Dress: Jane Tank Dress Crush Honey; Shoes: Phoenix Rising Buckle Flats; Left image – Skin Tuli Sayuri; Hair: HOH Elusive; Right image – Skin: Tuli Claire sunkissed; Hair: Truth Sandra marmalade streaked.

Lower photos: Skirt: Jane Pencil Skirt Eliza grey; Blouse: MEB Coral Shirt; Skin: Tuli Claire sunkissed; Hair: LelutkaWillamina fire top

